Victory for Ava!

_DSC4645b

Ava_Cover.3391ac9027101ef2e994c61f97ef332542Ta-da! Allow me to introduce my version of Ava by Victory Patterns!

I love this indie pattern company!  Victory Patterns is Toronto based & I love supporting amazing local businesses.  I had the pleasure of taking a class by Kristiann at The Workroom a few years back.  She was so lovely & a great teacher.  I was so excited to see her new pattern company when it first came out and I’ve been dying to try out some of her patterns ever since.  (I have already bought the Madeline pattern & fabric!)

I bought the fabric – Wookey Hole by Liberty of London – quite a while ago & was trying to decide what to do with it. At first I was thinking of making it with Anouk, but I was worried about how such a bold print would work with the front detailing.  I had my heart set on Anouk, but ultimately decided that the loud fabric suited Ava better.

The pattern was pretty easy to sew, the instructions were straight forward.  The most difficult part was the pleated pieces for the armholes and for where the top of the bodice met the lace.  I spent hours one night working on it with no success, so I just gave up.  The next morning I came back to it & it was really easy!  Sometimes you just need fresh eyes.

I’d like to make the top version at some point.  I make a lot of dresses and I find that I don’t get to wear them as much as I like, so I would like to add more tops to my self-made wardrobe.

I got the loveliest comment while I was wearing this dress the other day, from a perfect stranger! He said he liked my dress, then I said my standard “Thanks, I made it!” and he said “Wow! Beautiful and talented!” Sewing really does pay off!

_DSC4666

_DSC4668

_DSC4647

_DSC4648

_DSC4657

Not the best dress for a windy day…

_DSC4633Pattern: Ava by Victory Patterns

Size: 8

Fabric: 1 & 1/2 of Wookey Hole by Liberty of London, a cotton lawn.  1/2 of black stretch lace.  1/2 of black cotton.

 

4 comments
  1. Aunt Nancy said:

    Very pretty Emily!
    You must have a large closet for all of the beautiful outfits you’ve made.

  2. Gorgeous dress! And what a compliment from a stranger!

  3. Pilar said:

    Hi Emily,

    You are making very beautiful dresses! You are very good at sewing. My best regards from Barcelona.

  4. Holy moly, Emily! This is such a beautiful version of Ava! I haven’t seen many people use the pleats yet, so this is a treat! I’ve been eyeing up that Liberty print at the Workroom! It’s really great to see it made up in this dress. I hope you love it!

Leave a me your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

