Finished: Cats & Dogs quilt

I have finally finished a quilt that I probably started 8 or 9 months ago, just in time little Chloe’s second birthday.  The quilt top is stitched entirely by hand, using english paper piecing technique.  The cat and dog images came from a Tammis Keefe line of fabrics that was put out by Michael Miller Fabrics.  I am really happy with how it has turned out, I think it’s purr-fect for a little girl, but I kind of want to make another, larger version to keep for myself.

Instead of quilting it in the traditional way, I decided to use embroidery thread to tie a knot in the centre of each “pedal.”  I did this because  the quilt top is already so detailed and there is so much going on that I didn’t want to make it even more busy.  I think it turned out nice and simple, and maybe even just a bit whimsical.

On the back I used a pink flannel designed by Anna Maria Horner.  I also embroidered a small message:

Chloe receiving her quilt

3 comments
  1. Anushka said:

    Amazing! What a lucky girl she is.

  2. lesscos said:

    It turned out amazing! I’ve never been so jealous of a two year old!

Leave a me your thoughts

