Seventies Cube Quilt – Work in progress

This is a new english paper piecing project I have started.  The fabric is free spirit solids and, at the moment, I don’t have a whole lot of the fabric left, so I guess the final size of the quilt will depend greatly on how much more fabric I will be able to get my hands on… Here’s hoping the workroom still has some in stock!

I’m calling it my “seventies cube quilt” because I think it has a real retro vibe to it.  Maybe its the optical illusion that makes it so dated, or the colours…  It’s so simple, and yet I find it so aesthetically satisfying.

My sewing time over the past month has been very limited (I’m balancing two jobs this summer…), but having a bit of hand sewing makes me feel like I’m still staying on top of things.  I sewed all of this piece so far while on the subway or on my lunch breaks.

The Banksia top by Megan Neilson that I had mentioned I was working on (in a previous post) turned out not so nice… However, I will try again – and then I shall show what went wrong and how I (hopefully) made the next one better!  Other than that, I have been working on a dress from one of my Japanese dress books, Stylish Dress Book 3.  You’ll be the first to know when it’s done!

4 comments
  1. Glenn Cumming said:

    Keep working away. I have no doubt that you’ll put together a very nice work once again!

  2. Gorgeous! I love it. I can’t wait too see the finished quilt!

  3. Hello! I found your blog when I did a Google Image search for “cube work quilt.” I’m trying to make a cube quilt for my aunt who is having a baby in October, but I can’t figure out how to piece it together. The junctions between the three “cube” pieces don’t want to lay flat and stitching blocks to each other is a nightmare! Do you have any tips on how to make this easier?
    Thank you!

Leave a me your thoughts

