Back in action! (…with a new Cynthia Rowley dress!)

Hello Sewing Friends!

I am back in action and in fine form after a prolonged absence (time goes so fast!!!)  I was mostly away because I moved to a new town to start studies in photojournalism – which I love – but it has pretty much consumed my life!  In that time though, I’ve been continuing to follow all my favorite sewing blogs and keeping up with all the cool new patterns that have been released – I have an ever growing sewing to do list!

First thing first, allow me to present my latest creation that I made using Simplicity 1873 by Cynthia Rowley:

Simplicity1873

FemFab_DSC3731

As you can see, there is still some snow on the ground here in Toronto, and today it was also pretty windy:

 

 

FemFab_DSC3732

It was really easy to make, not so many pieces. I lined it with a turquoise voile and inserted an invisible zipper.  The only alteration I ended up making was to shorten the straps.  I would definitely make this again!

Close-up on bodice:FemFab_DSC3735

Close up on details: adorable duck button holding down one of the tabs!FemFab_DSC3738

Here’s the back:FemFab_DSC3749Here’s a sneak peak of my next two projects, they’re both in nani Iro & already in the works, so hopefully I’ll get some photos of them up soon enough.

naniirolittleletter2 Lily

11 comments
  1. This is a very lovely dress, love the fabric you used, too. It looks great on you!

    • Emily said:

      Thanks for the compliment! I love sewing with liberty fabric – so pretty, and the fabric is comfortable to wear!

  2. K said:

    What a gorgeous dress. Love the soft fabric contrasted with the heavy boots!

  3. Aunt Nancy said:

    so pretty, Emily!

Leave a me your thoughts

