In the works ~ Elisalex dress

Elisalex dress

I’m currently working on By Hand London’s Elisalex dress.  I bought both the Elisalex dress pattern and the Charlotte skirt pattern several months ago and I’ve been so excited to start them.  I’m using upholstery weight fabric that I got from Ikea last summer (it’s Solrun by Malin Åkerblom – I’m pretty sure it’s still for sale.)  The pattern says that you need a heavy fabric to maintain the shape of the skirt.

So far the bodice has come together beautifully!  I cut pattern size US8/UK12 and honestly its a bit snug – I had to loosen out the seam allowance to make sure I have enough fabric to attach the zipper, but the shape is really nice.

I have been so excited to make the Elisalex dress ever since I started seeing everyone else’s beautiful versions.  Here are some of my favorites:

8433199277_7ec1075436_z

Photo from blog ‘Dixie DIY’

p1130617

Photo from the blog ‘Saké Puppets’

8602367099_b3788aec0d_z

Photo from blog ‘Me and My Polar Bear.’

Have you made the Elisalex dress?  Which versions of the dress do you love?

Can’t wait to you show you mine soon!

5 comments
  1. 7cakes said:

    Oooh, what a fun pattern! I bet your dress will be gorgeous =D

    • Emily said:

      Thanks! I’m almost finished. Can’t wait to take photos & blog about it!

  2. It certainly is still available to buy… I just bought some for cushions! its going to make an amazing Elizalex… can’t wait to see it finished!

    • Emily said:

      Oooh, that fabric would make nice cushions! My Elisalex should (hopefully) be up soon!

Leave a me your thoughts

